Lyme Disease treatment starts… Now!

In my last post I wrote that I’d create a second blog post regarding my Lyme Disease test results. Honestly, I’m exceptionally hopeful and happy today. This is a huge piece of the “medical puzzle” I’ve been trying to put together for the last several years. The connection between all of my recent test results are starting to come together.

I had an appointment with a LLMD (Lyme Literate Medical Doctor) today and she confirmed my test results were conclusive of a positive infection. Basically, I developed Hyperadrenergic Postural Orthostatic Tachycardia Syndrome as a result of having undiagnosed Lyme Disease. She explained that my immune system became run-down from the infection and it started affecting other areas of my body (such as my nervous system).

So, why did I want to test for Lyme Disease in the first place?
Two reasons:

  1. I noticed a significant trend in the amount of people I talked to who had POTS and Hyper-POTS along with Lyme.
  2. When I was younger it wasn’t unusual to find ticks on me because I lived in a heavily wooded area and I spent a lot of time outdoors. I recall frequently having bug bites from being outside, but I often ignored them. Did I experience the tell-tale “bull’s eye” rash along with a tick bite? I honestly don’t remember. I’ve had rashes, hives, small bites, and not-so-small bites and don’t think I would’ve even known what to look for at the time.

So, here are what my test results look like (sorry about the random note scribbling on the second page)…

IMG_1668-2B. Burgdorferi (or Borrelia Burgdorferi) is the name of the Lyme bacteria. This is the initial ELISA/IFA test, which is positive.

Now let’s see the results of the more specific Western Blot test…

FullSizeRender-2I’ve got four definite positives and four INDs, which stand for indeterminate. Basically, the test picked up that my body is producing some antibodies to 23-25, 34, 39, and 83-93, it’s just not as strong of a result as a full-on positive, as seen in 18, 31, 41, and 58.

So, the LLMD said she wants to start me out slowly on a treatment plan. I’m going to start an antibiotic, a probiotic, and a supplement for adrenal gland support. She said her estimate for my treatment will take 1 – 3 years to see the full benefits (and hopefully, a full recovery).

All I can think is: let’s do this!!

dc5801189c8abb9152253f32502a438a

 

Leave a Reply

