Ready for 2014!

It’s difficult to describe how grateful I am for the abundance of positive changes that took place in 2013. On December 31st, 2012, I was in a much different place than I am today.

I was living with Kevin in a small, one bedroom apartment on Milwaukee’s East Side feeling frustrated. I had been looking to start a career after attaining my Bachelor’s degree for a full year with no luck. I also didn’t have a car and relied solely on public transportation when Kevin was not able to give me a ride. And then there was the seemingly endless struggle with panic attacks and anxiety. I know there are thousands, if not millions, of people struggling with panic attacks and anxiety, and it can be down right debilitating if left untreated. This past year I finally found ways to manage it. I was once told by a doctor that some people are hard-wired for anxiety, and I truly believe that. If I consume a lot of sugar and caffeine, I’ll feel physically anxious, even if there’s nothing to feel anxious about.

In 2012 I heard about The Paleo Diet and how eliminating sources of excess carbohydrates and sugar can improve health, calm your hormones, and soothe your nervous system. On January 1st, 2013 I dove right in and it drastically improved how I feel emotionally, as well as physically. While I can’t say I’ve completely eliminated anxiety from my life, I’ve at least found ways to naturally manage it and gain significant amounts of relief.

Tomorrow will mark one year since I’ve had soda, bread, and fast food, such as McDonalds or Burger King. Aside from a grilled chicken salad from Culvers, a burrito bowl from Chipotle/Qdoba, and gluten-free pizza, I’ve remained fast food free. Do I miss soda, bread, and typical fast food? Sometimes, yes. But I feel my quality of life has improved since eliminating them.

I’m not Paleo 100% of the time because I do consume the occasional legume (beans, peanuts, edamame, etc…), but I try my best to eat as much whole, one ingredient, gluten-free foods as possible.

So that was one big change that started in January of 2013. In March, I was offered my first post-college job at a company I’ve really enjoyed working at. I see myself working at Pinstripe for a long time as I continue to learn about the human resources and recruiting industry. During that same month Kevin also started his new position as an Underwriter.

Image

Working at Pinstripe afforded me the opportunity to purchase a car! With the help of Kevin, Kevin’s parents, and my parents I was able to find this car within two weeks before my start date. 🙂

Image

In April, Kevin and I moved to Menomonee Falls, a suburb of Milwaukee. Our new place is a two bedroom, two bathroom apartment amidst plenty of trails and walking land, which has been perfect for our new puppy, Butters.

Image

Image

Butters on his first day at home. 🙂

Image

Butters at approximately 8 months of age.

And then on our four year anniversary on August 18th in Chicago, I got engaged to my best friend! We’re planning our wedding for June of 2015, so 2014 will be a year full of fun events and planning! 🙂

Image

I’m absolutely thrilled for 2014. I have a few goals that I’ll touch-on in an upcoming post, but mostly I’d like to be more active in the new year, spend plenty of quality time with family and friends, plan our wedding, and expand my blog. But more on that later…

My wishes go out to everyone for a safe and healthy New Year and an abundance of joy in 2014!

2 thoughts on “Ready for 2014!

Leave a Reply

