Paleo Avocado Brownies

I know it sounds strange…avocado as a main ingredient in brownies? But these are good. Like, chocolate-y and super moist good. And I promise you can’t even taste the avocado. It just adds extra moisture and nutrients. 🙂

This recipe is adapted from Tgipaleo.com (one of my go-to sites for amazing and easy recipes). http://www.tgipaleo.com/2012/02/16/avocado-brownies-2/

Ingredients:

1/2 cup Unsweetened Chocolate, melted in 1 T Coconut Oil

3 Small Avocados (or 2 Large)

1/2 cup Honey

3 Eggs

1/4 cup Unsweetened Cocoa Powder

1 T Vanilla

1 T Coconut Flour

1 t Baking Soda

1/2 t Salt

Instructions:

Puree the avocado in a food processor.  Try to get out all of the lumps.

Beat all remaining ingredients together with the avocado in a bowl with an electric mixer until smooth and fluffy.

Spoon batter into a greased 8×8 baking dish.

Bake at 350 degrees for 35 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean.

These look and taste like regular brownies. They’re more light than thick and fudge-y, but I actually kind of like them that way. I would also recommend storing these in the refrigerator to maximize their freshness. They’re excellent when served cold. 🙂

Image

Yum!

Image

So I currently have some stuff in the works. I’m planning on doing a 21 day “cleanse” to maximize my energy for the busy months of August and September and get my digestive system feeling more balanced. I’ve been indulging in sugary foods like chocolate, honey, maple syrup, and dried fruit a lot lately (as well as some non-Paleo treats, like the cupcakes I recently had at my friend’s bachelorette party). These are all fine in moderation, I’ve just been indulging a lot lately and feel kind of “blah” because of it. I have some Young Living essential oil cleansing products on the way and once I figure out a good strategy for a sugar-detox I’ll be sure to post my plan! In the meantime, I’ll share a couple of updated pictures of our puppy, Butters. 🙂

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

