Refreshing Paleo-friendly treats!

It’s the last day of April and finally starting to feel like spring! It’s currently 72 degrees outside and I plan on heading outdoors as soon as I finish this blog post. Do you ever feel like there’s not enough time in the day? That’s how I’ve been feeling a lot lately. I wake up and before I know it I’m back in bed thinking “wasn’t I just here?” I need to prioritize my time better. Less time spent in front of the TV and computer and more time outdoors. 🙂

As the weather gets warmer you’re probably going to want healthy, refreshing treat options. I’ve got some ideas for you! I recently came across a frozen dessert that is both dairy-free and soy-free.

Image

So Delicious Frozen Coconut Milk has the same texture as ice cream and it comes in a lot of different flavors. I decided to try the classic vanilla bean and was pretty impressed! The coconut flavor is not overwhelming. I actually taste more of the vanilla flavor than the coconut. In case you’re wondering what’s in it, here are the ingredients:

Organic coconut milk (water, organic coconut cream), organic agave syrup, chicory root extract, carob bean gum, guar gum, vanilla extract, natural flavor, vanilla bean specks

For a frozen dessert, it has a pretty short list of ingredients. And it’s fairly high in fiber: 6 grams which is 24% of your daily value for just a 1/2 cup serving. I’m not crazy about it containing agave syrup though because the body processes it just like it would table sugar. The only up-side is that agave syrup may have a slightly lower glycemic index (it may not raise blood sugar as fast as table sugar), but I guess there’s still not enough evidence to conclude that as a fact.

I think it’s okay in moderation though. Also, if you want to add toppings, it pairs nicely with fruit, nuts, and dark chocolate. I like topping it with blueberries. 🙂

Image

Next up is my newest obsession: mango salsa! I recently bought some from Whole Foods but this would be easy enough to make at home.

Image

It’s just diced mango, sweet onion, red bell pepper, chile pepper, lime juice, and cilantro. I usually eat it with sweet potato tortilla chips or unsweetened banana chips. It’s a nice change-up from regular salsa.

And last is an easy homemade fruit smoothie.

Image

All you do is throw a frozen banana, frozen raspberries, black berries, unsweetened vanilla almond milk, and cinnamon in a blender (or any other fruit combination you’d like). I don’t add a lot of almond milk because I like my smoothies thick. I pretty much eat them with a spoon as if they were a sorbet.

Well, there are a few hot-weather treat options for you! What kinds of foods do you like to eat in the warm spring and summer months?

Leave a Reply

