Paleo Chocolate Chip “Cookie Dough” Bites

I’ve been on a Paleo dessert kick lately, which isn’t very healthy when you’re indulging all the time, but I’ve still been eating primarily Paleo meals! I have not consumed grains for almost three months (not knowingly, at least) and my refined sugar and processed food consumption has still remained very low. I’ve also continued to avoid caffeine. If I do consume caffeine it’s the little amount that’s found in dark chocolate, green tea, and decaf coffee.

Want to know what I may consider to be one of my greatest accomplishments? Not having McDonalds, Culvers, or Burger King since last December. Before I started Paleo I’d go to one of those three places every week. Now I rarely even think about them. Crazy!

Well, chocolate is still my vice though, which is why I was happy to find this Paleo chocolate chip “cookie dough” bites recipe. 🙂

It’s debatable whether chocolate is truly Paleo, but if it’s dark, high quality, dairy free, and gluten free, I count it. The percentage of dark chocolate is also important. The higher, the better. For example, Green & Black’s 85 % dark chocolate contains less sugar than a big bite of most fruit.

With that being said, let’s get to the recipe!

Paleo Chocolate Chip “Cookie Dough” Bites

1 cup cashew butter (almond butter may also work)

2/3 cup unsweetened coconut flakes

1/3 cup honey

3 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 tsp salt

1 package dairy free/gluten free dark chocolate chips (I used Ghirardelli)

1 tsp coconut oil

Combine all ingredients except the bag dark chocolate chips and coconut oil in a bowl. Sprinkle in a little (or a lot) of dark chocolate chips and melt the rest on the stove top on medium-low heat while stirring frequently. Add the coconut oil to the chocolate as it melts and continue stirring.

Form the “cookie dough” into bite-size balls.

Image

Once the chocolate is done melting, coat each “cookie dough” ball in chocolate (I stuck them right in the pot and rolled them around then scooped them out with a spoon).

Afterward, I stuck them in the freezer for about a hour then moved them to the fridge to stay cool but soften up slightly.

Image

These were pretty much awesome. The “cookie dough” could almost pass for the real thing too. And the best part is they’re 100% grain free, dairy free, and gluten free! Enjoy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

