Oprah’s 21 day meditation challenge – Day 1

Today is the first day of Oprah’s 21 day meditation challenge. I didn’t actually know about this challenge until yesterday after I happened to come across it online. It seems pretty cool though! Oprah teamed up with Dr. Deepak Chopra and created a 21 day meditation challenge for people to subscribe to through email for free. If you sign up late or miss a day it’s no big deal because all of the meditations are posted online to view later.

Image

I’ll admit that I love the idea and practice of meditation, but I think it’s a real challenge. Whenever I’ve meditated in the past I felt I was wavering between two extremes. I was either so calm and relaxed that I was falling asleep or so wired and anxious that I couldn’t stop thoughts from popping into my head. I think this challenge will help me quiet my mind and reflect on things I wouldn’t normally think about.

Today’s centering thoughts is:

“I commit to living perfect health.”

One of my favorite quotes from today’s meditation was, “There exists in every person a place that is free from disease, that never feels pain, that is ageless and never dies. When we journey to this place, limitations we commonly accept simply cease to exist.”

Isn’t that a beautiful thought? I truly believe that disease can’t take away the soul of an individual. “Soul” has a lot of connotations, but I believe it’s simply the consciousness deep within each of us that makes us unique, special, and aware. Whatever that is, disease can’t touch it. I find a lot of comfort in that.

Here’s the link in case you’re interested in the meditation challenge:

http://www.oprahdeepakmeditation.com/Bestsellers/LandingPage.aspx?BookId=178&af=850%20%20&utm_source=Oprah.comRRHomepage&utm_medium=20130218&utm_campaign=1

Also, I had to break out the yoga mat this week. 🙂

Image

If anyone registers for the meditation challenge, let me know! I’d love to hear about your experience!

Leave a Reply

