Paleo chicken noodleless soup

After a busy past few weeks of acquiring a new job and getting less sleep than I probably should have, I woke up yesterday with a scratchy throat and stuffy nose. This is only my second cold of the winter season. I haven’t gotten the flu or anything more severe than a stuffy nose and slightly sore throat so I consider myself pretty lucky.

Cold symptoms are still pretty unpleasant though. Especially the extra tiredness that accompanies them. I was craving something warm and a nutritious to help me kick the cold and immediately thought of making chicken noodle soup. I wanted to put a Paleo spin on it and omit the noodles and add more vegetables and this is what I came up with:

Image

Chicken noodleless soup! I based it on this recipe and just changed some of the ingredients: http://www.columbian.com/weblogs/paleo-in-a-pinch/2012/dec/26/moms-homemade-chicken-soup/

My ingredients were:

  • Chicken breasts
  • Celery
  • Carrots
  • Radishes
  • Green cabbage
  • Parsley
  • Thyme
  • Chicken stock
  • (I forgot to add onion- I would highly recommend adding it if you decide to try this recipe) 🙂

I cut up the chicken and cooked it in a skillet while the chicken stock, vegetables, and seasonings boiled. Once the chicken was done I added it to the pot, reduced the heat, and let everything simmer until the vegetables were tender.

It turned out very well! The abundance of vegetables made up for the lack of noodles. I’m also happy I added radishes to this recipe; they paired nicely with the other ingredients. I thought the chicken stock tasted a little watery so I’d consider trying chicken broth next time. Does anyone have a preference for chicken stock vs. chicken broth when it comes to making soup? If so, I’d love to hear! 🙂

Leave a Reply

