Post-Paleo Diet – Food Reintroduction Week 1

For the past week I’ve been reintroducing non-Paleo foods back into my diet to see how I feel. This is a slow process to ease my body back into consuming more carbohydrates, sugar, grains, and dairy.

If I learned anything about jumping into The Paleo Diet, it was that changing my diet dramatically in a short amount of time caused some confusion within my body. If I ease into food reintroduction, it may yield better results.

The first food I reintroduced was dark chocolate. While I’m happy to be eating chocolate again, it’s easy to overindulge. Sometimes I feel it’s easier to avoid chocolate altogether than “limit” it. What I mean is, it’s hard to break off a perfectly portioned piece of a dark chocolate then ditch the rest and save it for later. I’d rather just not have any of it than know it’s there and I just can’t have it.

This has always been a challenge for me. I’d rather rid my cabinets of junk food than risk overindulging because it’s there.

Last Saturday Kevin and I went on a dinner date to The Cheesecake Factory. I had a burger patty topped with bbq sauce, lettuce, and bacon (ditched the bun), sweet potato fries, and half a piece of chocolate mousse cheesecake (I took the other half home, of course). I felt super tired after eating the cheesecake. Like heavy eyes, heavy legs, uncomfortably tired. Since this was the sugariest thing I’d eaten in a month, my body was probably overwhelmed and overproduced insulin to compensate for my sky-high glucose levels (this is just my guess as to why I felt so tired). I’m happy I skipped the bread basket and burger bun. Had I eaten all of it I probably would’ve ended up in a carb-induced coma. 😉

Image

I haven’t formally introduced dairy back yet (although I’m sure there was milk in the chocolate cheesecake). This coming week I plan to start eating cheese and greek yogurt again. I’ll eventually get around to the grains. I’m not in a big rush to do so because I feel better without them. I’ve also found so many satisfying grain-free alternatives. I love the challenge of trying new recipes and seeing what works and what doesn’t.

I recently made my own tortilla shells for tacos.

Ingredients:

8 egg whites

1/4 cup coconut flour

1/4 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 cup water

1/4 teaspoon salt

You whisk all of the ingredients together, grease a pan with coconut oil, and pour about 5 tablespoons of the mixture into the pan. Once the tortilla shell starts to brown, carefully flip it over.

These were good but tasted a little “egg-y” to me. Next time I might add more coconut flour and less egg. They served as a suitable base for tacos though. Recipe found on http://www.simplypaleo.com/2012/0/4/26/how-to-make-coconut-flour-tortillas/

Image

You may know that I’m obsessed with Paleo pancakes for breakfast. 😉 I recently added raspberries to the pancake batter and fell in love them with even more. Here’s a typical breakfast consisting of grapes, turkey sausage, and raspberry banana Paleo pancakes!

Image

I’m excited to share this next recipe with you. Beyond excited, actually. I used to think a good chocolate chip cookie required white flour, added sugar, and butter. I used to try the whole wheat flour varieties to make them a little more “nutritious” but the texture and flavor always fell short.

Well, I made an incredible batch of gluten free, grain free, butter free, added sugar free chocolate chip cookies that are fluffy and actually taste like a cookie!

When I first tried them, I was in mild disbelief. I found this recipe on http://www.tgipaleo.com. TGIPaleo has not failed me yet. They gave me my Paleo pancake recipe and now they’ve given me my chocolate chip cookie recipe. The girl who runs this site really has a knack for creating easy, delicious recipes.

Image

Who can resist warm, fresh out of the oven chocolate chip cookies? Have I made you hungry yet? 😉

Ingredients:

3 cups almond meal

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup honey

2 eggs + 1 egg yolk

1 teaspoon vanilla

1/2 cup nut butter of choice (I used almond butter)

1 bag of chocolate chips (I used Ghirardelli semi-sweet chocolate chips)

TGIPaleo says to preheat the oven to 375. I had to turn mine down to 350. Whisk dry ingredients together. Add the wet ingredients and then mix together well by hand or with an electric mixer. Make golf-ball sized balls, place onto a lightly greased pan, press down lightly on each cookie dough ball to flatten, and bake for about 13 minutes.

Here’s the recipe link: http://www.tgipaleo.com/2012/05/05/whatever-nut-butter-cookies/

Yesterday I went to Whole Foods and finally found where they keep the Larabars! I’ve been hearing about these bars for awhile now but had yet to try them. Larabars are a natural, preservative-free snack. I also like that you can pronounce every ingredient on the label. 🙂

These weren’t terribly expensive. They were $1.29 per bar. The candy bars that aren’t on sale at Walgreens are $1.09 each, just to give a price comparison.

Image

Image

I tried the banana bread Larabar and was very impressed. It had a good, natural flavor and moist, chewy texture. Larabars are gluten free, dairy free, soy free, added sugar free, and the plant sources are non-genetically modified. They’re a win-win for everyone.

Leave a Reply

