The Paleo Diet – Day 25

I’ve entered the fourth and final week of The Paleo Diet challenge! I have one week left and I’m planning to end this diet with a couple “grand finale” recipes. Well, I shouldn’t say I’m completely “ending” The Paleo Diet after this month, but I’ll be tailoring it to my body’s needs and reintroducing foods like cocoa, legumes, and grains like quinoa.

One “grand finale” recipe I’ll be trying this week is Paleo spaghetti with meat marinara sauce. I’m excited for this one because the spaghetti “noodles” are actually the baked insides of the spaghetti squash plant. This dish will supposedly look and taste just like regular spaghetti. I’ll be the judge of that ;).

The other “grand finale” recipe I want to try is a turkey and shrimp burger on a baked sweet potato bun. I’ve never been a big seafood person but I’m willing to step out of my comfort zone because this recipe sounds amazing.

Once the final week of The Paleo Diet has concluded, I’ll write a series of posts about food reintroduction and how I feel when I try adding back foods like grains, dairy, and, of course, SUGAR. I think food reintroduction is important because you truly get a feel for how your body responds to consuming the once-eliminated product. After not having refined sugar for a month, I’ll have a pretty clear idea of how my body tolerates it once it’s reintroduced. I’m expecting the usual sugar crash, but I’d also like to see how it affects my mood, appetite, ect…

In the past few days I’ve made some simple meals and tried a few news ones too. For breakfast one day I made steamed asparagus over a bed of eggs and ham.

Image

For lunch the next day I had fajita-style vegetables (from Whole Foods) over a turkey burger with a side of asparagus, salad, and coconut water. It’s funny because I love coconut oil, milk, and flour but could not stand the taste of coconut water. I couldn’t even finish it because I thought it tasted like sour milk. I’ve been told coconut water is an “acquired” taste. I definitely think it is.

Image

Kevin told me that Jimmy Johns makes an “Unwich” where they wrap one of their subs in a big leaf of lettuce. I was intrigued by this and decided to order it for lunch yesterday. The sub I ordered was: turkey, ham, tomato, cucumber, and Dijon mustard. It could have used a little more meat but overall it wasn’t bad. I probably wouldn’t go out of my way to get it again though because it costs $6 :(. Sorry for the visual of the half-eaten sandwich, just wanted to give an idea of how it looks! 🙂

Image

For dinner last night I made Paleo chicken chili. This chili does not contain beans or corn. The ingredients are: chicken, red, green, and yellow pepper, stewed tomatoes, salsa, onion, garlic powder, and chili powder. I would normally also add cumin powder but I was out. This chili turned out pretty well! I like beans in my chili but skipping them this time wasn’t too bad.

Image

I’ve been wanting to make Paleo pumpkin muffins for awhile now. I found this recipe on cindystable.com (http://www.cindystable.com/?s=paleo+pumpkin+muffins) . The muffins include: a can of pumpkin, coconut flour, coconut oil, eggs, vanilla, honey, cinnamon, nutmeg, and baking powder. One thing I loved about the muffins was how moist they were! One thing I didn’t love was their plain flavor. Next time I’ll add a little more cinnamon, nutmeg, and throw in some raisins. Then they would be perfect :).

Image

As always, thank you for reading! I’ve had so much fun sharing this adventure with you over the past three weeks. Stay tuned for lots of new posts in the week to come! 🙂

Leave a Reply

