The Paleo Diet – Day 20

I wasn’t able to blog much this weekend because I was up north visiting family and picking out my maid-of-honor dress for my friend’s wedding in September :). Here is the bride-to-be, Steph, and I:

Image

We had a fun time picking out our dresses Saturday afternoon. Afterward we had dinner at The Great Dane then finished the night off with some drinks.

Image

Eating out and sticking to The Paleo Diet was a challenge, but I did okay. For dinner I had a slice of meat loaf, steamed vegetables, sweet potato fries, and some warm cinnamon apples. The meat loaf had BBQ sauce on it though, which most likely wasn’t Paleo-approved. For drinks I stuck to one glass of hard cider with dinner and remained the DD for the rest of the night. As much as I love eating out with friends it feels good to be back home feeling more in control of what I eat (while I’m finishing out this diet, that is).

Do you remember my blog post about Whole Foods not carrying coconut flour? I asked the girl at the service desk if they carried it and she said it wasn’t listed in their inventory. Turns out they do carry it and I found this out after I ordered two bags of it online. I paid shipping and handling for nothing but at least I have coconut flour now! 🙂

Image

As soon as the coconut flour arrived I whipped up a batch of Paleo banana pancakes which turned out amazing! They aren’t exactly the fluffy IHOP variety but they still have a great texture and flavor. The recipe makes about 8-9 pancakes (depending on how big you make them). The ingredients are:

2 bananas

4 eggs

1 teaspoon of vanilla

1 teaspoon of cinnamon

1 teaspoon of baking soda

1/3 cup of coconut flour

You simply grease a skillet with coconut oil, mash your bananas, beat all of your ingredients together, and cook them up! The pancakes shouldn’t be larger than the head of your spatula. The smaller they are, the easier they’ll be to flip. You also have to cook each side of the pancake for about 4 minutes on medium-low heat to insure they cook thoroughly. They’re worth the wait though!

Image

For dinner tonight I made an almond chicken bake. I dipped raw thin-sliced chicken breasts in egg and then rolled them in a mixture of almond flour, chili powder, cayenne pepper, and garlic powder. I baked the chicken breasts at 400 degrees for 12 minutes and then flipped them over for another 12 minutes. I also cooked some Brussels sprouts in olive oil as a side.

Image

This was a pretty good meal! The chicken had a little kick to it from all of the spices, but it wasn’t overbearing. The almond flour also gave the outside of the chicken a bread-like texture, which I liked.

For dessert I made fried banana pudding from Sarah Fragoso’s Everyday Paleo. I loved this recipe! It was the perfect warm comfort food for a frigid winter night. You cut up a couple bananas, fry them in coconut oil over medium heat until they soften, pour in 1/4 cup of coconut milk, and gently stir for a few minutes. Once everything is warm and bubbly you scoop the contents into a bowl and top with raisins, chopped nuts, shredded coconut, and cinnamon. I bet this would be delicious topped with chocolate chips! 🙂

Image

Leave a Reply

