The Paleo Diet – Day 14

I have not had chocolate, refined sugar, bread, or dairy in two straight weeks! I can’t believe how fast the past two weeks have gone.

What are the major upsides I’ve noticed so far? I’ve had more consistent energy, felt more alert, and felt less hungry throughout the day. I attribute the increase in protein in my diet to feeling fuller longer.

What have been the downsides? The time and patience it takes to come up with meals, resisting cravings for unhealthy foods, and the occasional stomach upset from my body adjusting to new things.

I’m halfway done with the four-week-long Paleo Diet challenge, so where will I go from here (and afterward)? I’ve decided I’ll continue sticking to the strict version of this diet for the remaining two weeks and then slowly start adding back some healthy non-Paleo foods. I really miss legumes (beans, peanuts, etc…) and don’t think I’ll cut them out forever. I don’t really miss bread as much as I thought I would. I miss the taste but I don’t miss how consuming it made me feel. I’d still like to eat bread on special occasions, but I’d be okay cutting it out most of the time.

One thing I’ve missed every single day of this diet is chocolate. I love chocolate’s rich, creamy texture and comforting flavor. I’ve missed sugar in general but I’ve made up for it with some of nature’s natural sugar sources like maple syrup, honey, and fruit. There’s no replacing chocolate, though.

Lately I’ve been drinking a lot of tea. I love Zen green tea and Passion tea from Starbucks. Adding a cinnamon stick gives the Passion tea nice flavor.

Image

Today I made a breakfast frittata. It contains Italian pork and chicken sausage, diced onion, grated sweet potato, and eggs. It turned out really well! I had to stop myself at two slices ;). Here’s the recipe from Sarah Fragoso’s everydaypaleo.com: http://everydaypaleo.com/easy-and-delicious-sausage-frittata/

Image

For dinner Kevin and I had leftover Paleo pizza with a side of pear salad. The salad turned out wonderful, although I think I’ll skip the sweet onion next time. The onion flavor became a little overwhelming toward the end. The salad was easy to make, it contains: baby spinach and salad greens, diced pear, pecans, olive oil, sweet onion, and balsamic vinegar dressing.

Image

For dessert I made Paleo coconut candy balls :). These are quite sweet so a little goes a long way. They contain unsweetened coconut flakes, coconut oil, maple syrup, and vanilla extract. You mix all of these ingredients together, roll them into balls, and chill them in the refrigerator for about an hour. If you’re craving something sweet, these will do the trick. I actually like that you serve them cold. They taste refreshing when chilled. Here’s the full recipe: http://thischickcooks.net/2012/10/25/coconut-crack-quickno-cook/

Image

The first half of this challenge hasn’t been too painful. Here’s to a successful second half!

Leave a Reply

