The Paleo Diet – Day 13

Day 13 and still going strong! Sticking to this diet on the weekends has proved to be difficult, but I’ve been trying my best.

My friend’s birthday was on Friday and I was searching for alternatives to beer and sugary mixed drinks so I decided the best options are: hard cider drinks, wine, and tequila. Hard cider basically comes from apples, wine from grapes, and tequila from the agave plant. I figure if I’m out socializing having one or two of these won’t completely ruin my diet. Beer is absolutely out since it’s derived from grain. Vodka isn’t much better since it’s also derived from Paleo ousted origins such as grain and potatoes.

On Saturday I met up with Kevin and some friends at the bar for the Packer game. I had just worked a 10 hour shift and felt famished so I ordered a burger (no cheese) with lettuce, tomato, and onion and ditched the bun and ate just the burger patty and veggie toppings :). When I ordered the bartender said I may as well pick a side since I’d be paying for one anyways so I ordered sweet potato fries and split them with Kevin.

So I have some recipes to share from the past few days!

On Friday I made a turkey roll-up snack. I spread guacamole on a slice of turkey, added slivers of cucumber and carrots, and rolled it in sesame seeds.

Image

For lunch at work on Saturday I put salmon on a bed of baby spinach and salad greens and topped it off with almonds and raspberry vinaigrette.

Image

Tonight I made Paleo pizza for dinner which thoroughly surprised me! It was savory and delicious and didn’t leave me in a carb-coma like regular pizza does. Making this pizza was incredibly easy. The crust is made out of almond flour, eggs, olive oil, baking soda, and garlic powder. The toppings are marinara sauce, Italian pork sausage, diced onion, diced red bell pepper, diced tomatoes, and cut-up black olives. I’ve never had a pizza without cheese before but there were so many flavorful ingredients I didn’t think it needed it. I already know this pizza will be added to our regular meal rotation. Even with the prep time it was done in about an hour. Here’s the link to the recipe from Sarah Fragoso’s everydaypaleo.com: http://everydaypaleo.com/everyday-paleo-pizza/ (I omitted a few of her ingredients, like the rosemary and yellow summer squash, and still think it turned out great).

Image

Image

For dessert I cored an apple, put some almond butter, cinnamon, and vanilla extract in the inside, and baked it for 30 minutes at 400 degrees. This was a welcome treat, just the right amount of sweetness and warmth to suffice as a “dessert.” Plus it made the whole apartment smell wonderful :).

Image

Thanks for reading! I have the day off of work tomorrow so expect another blog post soon :).

2 thoughts on “The Paleo Diet – Day 13

Leave a Reply

