The Paleo Diet – Day 10

I’m a week and a half into The Paleo Diet and my body feels a bit confused. If my digestive system could talk it would say “So you’re serious? You’re really doing this diet after all?” Yes, yes I am.

I’m going to try not to go into TMI in this post but I’ve been dealing with stomach upset the past couple days (not cool!). I’m probably going to sound quite naive right about now, but I didn’t realize the impact diet had on the overall body. I knew that if you ate healthier you felt better, but I didn’t know the processes your body has to go through to adjust.

I was trying to research why The Paleo Diet may cause stomach upset and I think I found the reason. The body has to adjust to a “higher intake of short-chain fermentable carbohydrates.” This includes, but is not limited to: apples, pears, broccoli, asparagus, and cauliflower. Apparently the small intestine doesn’t absorb these well when it’s overwhelmed by them. To fix the problem you have to limit how many short-chain fermentable carbohydrates you consume and substitute them with not-so-short-chain fermentable carbohydrates like: bananas, cantaloupe, grapefruit, oranges, lettuce, and carrots.

This information was found on the website that I linked below and is part of the “Low FODMAPS Diet” (apparently there’s a diet for everything):

http://www.intelihealth.com/IH/ihtIH/WSIHW000/35320/35327/1445824.html?d=dmtHMSContent

I’m almost positive this is the change I need to make to remedy the issue. Who knew fruits and vegetables would be giving me more issues than my sugar cravings? 😉 Well, I’m just going to keep on keeping on.

The meals I made today were nothing too exciting. For lunch I had chopped-up ham over eggs drizzled with hot maple syrup and a side of grapes :).Image

Leave a Reply

