The Paleo Diet – Day 8

Today I came across a quote that really resonated with me. The quote is by Deepak Chopra, “As long as you engage in an inner war between what you crave and what you know is good for you, defeat is all but inevitable. In its natural state, will is the opposite of resistance. You go with the flow, and the will of nature, which has billions of years of evolution behind it, carries you.”

This quote relates to me challenging myself with The Paleo Diet because craving the “not so good” foods is going to be inevitable, but I don’t have to make it an “inner war.” When you’re trying a diet like this, you very much have to go with the flow. I’ve been trying not to focus on the foods I haven’t been eating and instead focus on the new foods I want to try. I’m happy I’ve tried new things like almond butter and dates. I never would’ve known they’d be foods I’d like so much!

So, what’s on the menu for dinner tonight? I made a spicy chipotle chicken sausage stir fry. The chipotle chicken sausages are from Whole Foods (they’re pre-cooked). I removed their outer casing, cut them up, and fried them in a skillet. I also added cut up sweet potatoes, sliced red pepper, and sliced onion. This was super easy to make. All you have to do is cut everything up, throw it in a large skillet with some olive oil, and there’s dinner for the next two days. 

Image

 

Leave a Reply

