The Paleo Diet – Day 7

Today my sugar craving kicked in big time. It’s like my body was saying “Oh, you thought this was going to be easy, didn’t ya? Remember how chocolate mousse cheesecake tastes?” (Chocolate mousse cheesecake from The Cheesecake Factory is my all time favorite dessert) ;). There are certain Paleo dessert recipes that allow non-dairy dark chocolate. I’ve chosen to avoid chocolate altogether for the next three weeks to really test my willpower and further reduce my sugar intake.

I decided to go on a quest through Whole Foods to see what other kinds of Paleo-approved foods I could find to satisfy my sweet tooth. I ended up finding no sugar added dried banana chips roasted in coconut oil and dates rolled in coconut flakes. The dates were exactly what I needed! I can’t recall the last time I had a date, but they were surprisingly sweet- almost like candy. I also liked the texture. They were just the right amount of chewy to trick my brain into thinking I was consuming taffy (or something like that) ;).

The banana chips were a little bland, but they’re good to have on hand for a crunchy, healthy snack.

photo (3)

For lunch I made a turkey burger topped with guacamole and wrapped in lettuce. I also had a side of baby carrots and some coconut dates for dessert :).

photo (7)

Today I found a recipe by Sarah Fragoso for apple muffins. There is no added sugar and the “flour” is actually almond meal. The full ingredients are: almond meal, eggs, apple, banana, coconut oil, water, baking soda, and cinnamon. To be honest, they were a little plain. Next time I’ll add in some blueberries and raspberries to sweeten them up and give them more flavor. I do have to say they pair pretty well with unsweetened vanilla almond milk though. Here is a link to the recipe instructions: http://everydaypaleo.com/?s=apple+muffins

photo (8)

Something at Whole Foods surprised me today. They have coconut oil, coconut water, coconut sugar, but absolutely no coconut flour. I even asked the girl at the customer service desk if I was just missing the coconut flour but she opened up their inventory book and said it wasn’t listed. Bummer! I may end up ordering it online if I can find a reasonably price provider.

So on December 28th I had my blood pressure taken and it was on the high side of normal at 134/78. I had it taken again today (10 days later) and my blood pressure was down to a healthier 116/75. I thought that was very interesting! I know blood pressure can change frequently depending on your stress levels, activity, ect… but I wonder if the drop had anything to do with my diet change? It fascinates me how diet can have such an impact on the human body.

2 thoughts on “The Paleo Diet – Day 7

  1. I have made the muffins too… Not too bad, but I agree, some berries would improve them!
    And how lucky you are to have a Whole Foods! You won’t find that in your home town ;).

    • If I make those muffins again I’ll definitely be adding more berries and cinnamon :). I am very lucky to live close to a Whole Foods. I’ll admit it’s been convenient to shop there for many of the ingredients I need!

Leave a Reply

